Glass jars

The origins of this blog’s name can be found in my obsession with glass jars. I absolutely love them. They’re just so versatile. You can keep things in them (preferably buttons and ribbon) or use them as casual vases or even quirky cups.

But I’ve realised that my passion goes beyond just jars; I love all types of glassware, so long as it’s unfussy, preferably a bit vintage or retro, and functional and beautiful in equal measure.

Here are a few examples I’ve fallen for recently. First off is this numbered jar, which has a touch of the schoolroom science lab style that’s so popular right now.

Numbered jar £13.50 and set of tins £45, Living in Store

I actually bought a set of these Picardie tumblers yesterday,  having coveted them since the Jamie’s Italian shoot.

Set of six Picardie tumblers £8.50, The Conran Shop

I’m also planning on getting myself this butter dish with some John Lewis vouchers my friend kindly gave me as a thank you for knitting her a scarf last winter.

Comforts glass butter dish £10, John Lewis

I love the simple philosophical style of this glass. In fact, I like a lot of Space 1a’s designs.

Set of six recycled tall Euphoric glassware £45, Space 1a Design Shop

Ah, the summer of ’96 and my first taste of cider. If I weren’t teetotal these days, I’d definitely be enjoying a glass of Scrumpy Jack in the sunshine.

Retro glass flagon £39.95, Nordic House

There’s nothing to stop me drinking as much pink lemonade as I fancy though, and if I get around to making any this summer, I’ll definitely be serving it from an apothecary bottle like this one.

Apothecary bottle £6, The White Lighthouse

What’s your favourite glassware item, or do you have a different obsession?

Comment...

