Geraldine James

Geraldine James

A couple of weeks ago I interviewed the Homes Accessories Buying Manager of Selfridges. Now there’s a job I could enjoy! Geraldine James is also the author of one of my favourite books, Creative Walls, and this year brought out another title, Creative Display, both by CICO Books.

I got hold of a copy before the interview, and thought I’d share some of my favourite finds here.

Creative Display (£19.99, CICO Books)

The book is awesome, tapping into the concepts I hold most dear – that the personal touch is what makes a house a home, that you don’t have to spend a fortune to make a place look beautiful and that everyday objects should be as beautiful as they are functional and should be displayed for all to see.

As I was flicking through, I found myself drawn to a number of images that are best described as ‘pale and interesting’ (the title of another favourite book by Atlanta Bartlett) where a limited palette (mostly white) was combined with lots of texture to create an interesting yet very calm and grown up effect:

Image copyright – CICO Books

Image copyright – CICO Books

I also loved some of the shots that brought indoor styling to outside spaces:

Image copyright – CICO Books

Image copyright – CICO Books

Geraldine’s talent lies in grouping objects in such a way as to create a statement, a kind of collective art installation piece with bucketloads of character (perhaps I should add this lamp to my list of options for the study…):

Image copyright – CICO Books

Image copyright – CICO Books

Finally, I couldn’t resist this ‘door as table’ pic, which reminded me of a table I saw at Ruby Rhino which I blogged about here (and yes, ok, I also liked the cat):

Image copyright – CICO Books

Creative Display by Geraldine James is published by CICO Books at £19.99, hardback, or call 01256-302699 quoting GLR7DP to purchase a copy at the special price of £16.99 including free p&p.

5 thoughts on “Geraldine James

  1. It’s lush, isn’t it? I don’t think the book lists stockists, sadly, the shots are of people’s houses. Soooo worth a read though.

  2. What a great post. Not only do I love the images from the book, but you talk about many of the concepts I have tried to cover in my own blog recently. The idea of the ‘pale and interesting’ rooms but also the idea ‘that everyday objects should be as beautiful as they are functional’. This is something I’m trying to champion in my own business I’m getting going! And to top it all I’m in love with the door-table! This book’ll be on my xmas list!

Comment...

