Wallpaper

I’m a big fan of wallpaper, properly used. I’ve never used much of it myself though, mainly because I’ve never learned how to hang it. But when I redo my study I’m seriously considering having a bit of a feature wall.

I seem to get an awful lot of press releases featuring new ranges, so I guess as a whole we’re still enjoying patterns over paint, and I must say that there are some truly adventurous designs around.

Here are a few of my favourites for the autumn winter season…

1) I love Pictus, the debut collection from St Vitus, which includes this gorgeous Cygnus design – not something I’d necessarily be brave enough to have in my own home, but I’d admire anyone who did:

Cygnus wallpaper (10m roll) £79, St Vitus

2) There are plenty of leaf print wallpapers around at the moment, but this one by Sandberg has that school textbook look that I love, and uses colour cleverly to create a real sense of calm:

Ria wallpaper (10.9m roll) £56.50, Sandberg

Ria wallpaper (10.9m roll) £56.50, Sandberg

3) Oh to be a kid again! This magical, fairytale wall paper is amazing and it kind of makes me want to have children just so I can decorate their rooms (is that a bad thing?):

Lilleby children’s wallpaper by Boråstapeter (10.05m roll) £55, available at Wallpaper Direct

4) This design is kind of mid-century retro, but with a 21st century twist. I think it’s the cartoon like quality that appeals to me; it looks like a hand drawn illustration:

Eco Revival no. 5651 wallpaper by Eco (10.05m roll) £37, available at Tangletree Interiors

5) Yes, this last one is a bit mental, but life’s too short to be boring. And really, who could resist a smile when faced with a room bustling with these little fellas?

Chirpy wallpaper (10.05m roll) by Blendworth £35.50, available at Wallpaper Direct

So, how daring are you when it comes to your walls? What are your favourite brands?

5 thoughts on “Wallpaper

  1. I love the Chirpy and Cygnus ones, actually, but renting our apartment means that I can’t go too crazy with custom decoration.

    What I would love to do is to buy a nice piece of fancy wallpaper and put it over a huge plain canvas frame – possibly with wallpaper glue? – and then hang that on the wall above the couch.

  2. You can actually decoupage walls y’know? ;). We are currently planning a feature wall in our bedroom – I LOVE all of these papers but the Cygnus one has to be my fav. We are lucky enough to have a landlady who doesn’t give a fig what we do to her lovely house x

  3. Ooh, exciting! Will your feature wall be decoupage then? I reckon that will be amazing. I must plan a visit for when it’s all finished 🙂

Comment...

