Bookshelves

I love books. LOVE them. And I love displaying them on bookshelves. My other half doesn’t – he says they’re too “noisy”. Good thing we don’t live together, isn’t it??

Anyway, I saw this beautifully simple (and well-stocked) shelving unit from BoConcept, and it inspired me to have a look around for other attractive book display systems.

Just so you know, I’ve purposely chosen current products you can buy today, rather than inspirational but ultimately unachievable pictures that will make you dream but won’t actually get you anywhere.

Lecco wall system £1,1995, BoConcept

This is a pretty little thing, perfect for a small selection of books, perhaps in a guest bedroom. I like that it’s quite country, but the rivets give it a bit of a utilitarian touch:

Attache bookcase £748, Anthropologie

Regular readers will know I love the industrial look. Genuine vintage items cost a packet, but this high street shelving unit is a pretty good bargain (I know it doesn’t have lots of books on it in the picture, but you can use your imagination, right?):

Ladbrook shelving unit £599, Marks & Spencer

I love ladder shelving generally, and this is a great idea for a hallway or a small room where you don’t want a more substantial structure taking up too much space (ooh, and look – yarn!):

Wooden ladder shelf £225, Cox & Cox

But then again, I’d also be quite happy with my books piled up around a comfy armchair like this:

Stranmon wing chair £175, Ikea

So, which do you like best? Or do you think bookshelves or books in general make a room look messy?

2 thoughts on “Bookshelves

  1. Love books, love to display them and I have a couple of neat tricks to make sure they don’t look messy.

    First up, and this is controversial, I colour code them. I recognise books largely by their jackets so I find this useful as well as looking lovely.

    Secondly I match them up by height – just keeps them looking good.

    I love the way they look when they are all neatly grouped on the shelf, I think they add life to a room. Any random ones which don’t fit my size/colour regime are just piled up together and that still looks great too.

    • I love your system! Colour coding is fantastic, especially on a plain bookshelf like the BoConcept one. I’m in the process of redoing my study, and I will definitely be going down that route.

Comment...

