Mugs

I’m a bit weird about mugs. But it’s ok because my mum and my sister are the same, so at least I’m not alone.

My mum is particular about which mug she uses for which purpose – she has a special one for her first cup of tea, and another for her daily filter coffee. After that it’s a free for all.

My sister and I, on the other hand, spend a lot of time deciding on which mug we want for any given cup of tea or coffee we are making. Important factors – for me at least – include size, shape, thickness, design and colour.

Naturally, I have lots of mugs at home – but not nearly as many as I’d like. Here are a few I might be tempted by next time I get a pay cheque through.

1) This one is an obvious choice. Isn’t he gorgeous? I love Magpie, and could probably fill this entire post with their fab designs alone:

Fox mug £8, Magpie

2) The Pantone range is one for colour geeks. And I’ll admit, that would describe me pretty darn well:

Pantone mug in Ketchup Red 186 £9.50, Rume

Fenella Smith is brilliant, and so are flamingos. There is no need to say more:

Flamingo mug by Fenella Smith £17.50, Not On The High Street

I have recently come to terms with the fact that I am the kind of person who says “jeepers creepers” and “marvellous”. I may add “tickety boo” to the repertoire:

Tickety Boo mug in Green £6, John Lewis

I do love Le Creuset. I particularly like buying it from HomeSense where you can get up to 60% off retail prices. Just saying:

Stoneware mug in Rose £11, Le Creuset

Finally, I wanted to include this colourful set from The Shed Inc – individually they’re nice enough, but together they’re just stunning. Perfect if you’re having a few friends over for a cuppa:

Aztec mugs in Wine, Custard, Dolphin, Lime & Earth £11.99 each, The Shed Inc

7 thoughts on “Mugs

  1. Pingback: Pedlars mobile shop | glass jars & photographs

Comment...

