Made In Bristol gift fair

I went to the Made in Bristol gift fair on Saturday. I was planning on taking photographs, but in the end I was having such a lovely time browsing that I didn’t really feel like it. Plus there were so many people!

Here’s an official selection from the organiser’s blog:

The Made In Bristol gift fair

The Made In Bristol gift fair

I did want to show you a few discoveries though, and encourage you to go along this weekend (yes, it’s a two weekend event!), because I’m a big believer in supporting local artists and always try to buy things that are made in Bristol.

The first stall I spotted on arrival was that of Clare Mahony of CRM Ceramics. I instantly fell in love with her tactile ceramic art pebbles and, after debating for the entire time it took me to walk around every stall, eventually decided to treat myself to one on the way out:

Handmade ceramics by Clare Mahony

Handmade ceramics by Clare Mahony

I recognised the work of illustrator Ruth Broadway from the shoot I did at Makers. In fact, one of my favourite shots of the day featured her camera print. She had a great selection on offer, including some cute jewellery and lush buttons (yes, I did buy myself some!):

illustration by Ruth Broadway

illustration by Ruth Broadway

I was pleased to discover another fantastic illustrator, Fiona Willis, whose finely detailed work I was really drawn to (no pun intended!). My absolute favourite, which I am determined to save up for (it’s actually very reasonable, only I splurged on a Filofax recently, so I feel I should be good) was this tree print:

A year of trees £45, Fiona Willis

A year of trees £45, Fiona Willis

And back to ceramics with Alice Shields, who is in fact also an illustrator, and combines her work to create gorgeous gifts like markers for herb pots and these stunning coasters:

Blackbird coaster £12, Alice Shields

Blackbird coaster £12, Alice Shields

If you want to go along to this free event, visit Colston Hall, Bristol, on Saturday 15th from 10am to 4pm or Sunday 16th from 10am to 2pm. Have fun!

Comment...

